Pattern Review – Girasole

So I have a feeling that there are other people like me who have anxiety on purchasing patterns. I know that there are those who will be quick to push that purchase button, but I’m skeptical. I mean, other than the FO, what do you really know about the pattern? You can’t see the pattern of course until you purchase and what if it’s terribly written and you just can’t stand it?

The Girasole pattern was my first actual pattern purchase. I don’t think it could have really gone wrong. Mr. Flood seems very dedicated to his passion, so I figured the pattern would be well written or charted. Which will make for a short review.

So what details can you see from the Ravelry pattern page?

Pattern Price – Girasole’s pattern price is a measly $6.50. Although I say designers can charge what they like, this price appealed to my poor college student yarn-addicted self.

Sizes – Girasole comes in two sizes in the pattern, a shawl and blanket. I knit the shawl but I came to a conclusion. Though I loved the shawl, I found that I had to fold it into a half-circle to wear it or drape it willy nilly across my shoulders, which obscures the details of the shawl. So the next time I knit another Girasole it will be a blanket and will definitely receive more use.


It might not obscure all details, but I feel that I don’t get the same wow factor like traditional triangular shawls. Or maybe I’m just picky?

Yarn Choice – Mr. Flood remarks on “how yarn choices can make the same lace pattern into two completely different finished pieces.” I agree. I don’t know about most people, but I am a slow knitter. Though this means I am more careful with my knitting and pay more attention, I also get burnt out really fast. And I did, this took me about a year and a half to complete. I may have not completed it, if not for the yarn I chose for this project. Girasole is worked in a heavy yarn, so you’re able to see your progress as you go along. Which was great for me because I was even more inspired to keep going and not have to wait for blocking to see the beauty.

Pattern Construction – The pattern is charted but heavily accompanied by the notes Mr. Flood provides.

Now onto the actual pattern review!

Good things? Girasole is knitted in the round, which means no purling! It is charted and accompanied by a considerable amount of notes, but the notes are well written and the charts are easily memorized. All stitches are simple there are some K4togs, and make 5s, but nothing like nupps. This is a great first lace project if you haven’t taken the plunge.

Also I have heard that with the section pictured below, you can omit or add repeats without fear of messing up stitch count.

Bad things? The border is a time suck, it’s not difficult but your brain will explode over time and those little bits of brain will then explode again. Just warnin’ ya. Also, there was some confusion on the border. It states to bind off 3 and knit 3, but when you did BO3, you could only knit two. It was easily corrected and found that the last BO was considered the first knit stitch. Other than just being inattentive, that is, in my humble opinion, the only bump in the road for this pattern.

I highly recommend Girasole! You really cannot go wrong.

Pattern review criticism is greatly appreciated!

Jared Flood’s website

Also, The Fiber Beat podcast on Itunes has an episode (Ep.9) interviewing Jared Flood.

3 thoughts on “Pattern Review – Girasole

  1. this is a great idea, to review the things you do and don’t like about the pattern. I’d link to it in the blog though, so people can at least see the FO.

  2. I really like your review. Reviews are ALWAYS helpful to someone and selecting a popular pattern is a good choice. The only improvement To the review I could see would be to add links to the pattern page or Jared’s blog and also photos of your project is helpful so people can see what you are talking about. Other than that it was a helpful and well written review.

    • I think your reviews are a really great idea and well executed too. It’s made me want to knit both patterns (this plus the baby kimono).

Leave a Reply

