We’re here!

We have been in New Jersey for about two months now. Frankly, I think I became a yankee as soon we crossed the Delaware/New Jersey state line. It’s beautiful here! They definitely don’t call it the garden state for nothing!

We are right smack dab in the middle of everything, it’s a bit of a drive but I don’t mind. To the west we have Philly, to the east we have the beach and Atlantic City, to the south we have Maryland and D.C, and to the north we have the good ol’ NYC.

My only issues with NJ is like two things.

1. EVERYONE and their mother smokes. I don’t mind smoking so much, but it’s everywhere! I will be parked at a red light and everyone around me has got a cig in one hand and their window cracked. My mother so brilliantly stated, “Damn, I should’ve been a pulmonologist or an oncologist.”

2. The most irritating thing? You take the speed limit and add ten to that number and that is the true speed limit. Don’t go any lower or you’re gonna have your ass ridden or flipped off. And oh yeah, left turns don’t exist, and if they do then be careful. People will go around on your right, so if there are two of you poor souls trying to turn left, cross your fingers and hope that you don’t get T-boned. I don’t have a clue how that can be possibly legal.

Other than that, everything is dandy! I got a kennel job about two weeks after arriving so it’s just been work, work, work. I entered my Girasole into a knitting competition! I got first prize for it. The categories were womens articles, mens articles, children articles, and anything other than clothing.  So the shawl was in the “anything other” category, and I won first place for that! No pink ribbon though for winning knitting overall.

I was very surprised and pleased! I mean I stood there taking my ONE first time entry with it’s first place ribbon, watching these other women pull seven items with no ribbons. And these were ladies who, I felt, had way more experience than I. I will definitely say this. If you have been thinking about the Girasole, do it. The price is very reasonable and produces a beautiful FO and is so easy to knit. You can knit it either as a shawl or blanket. The latter portion of the shawl and the border will kind of drive you insane, but it is so worth it!

What’s next for me? Well I am trying to finish up Bridgewater by Jared Flood, it’s being knitted in Classic Elite Yarns Silky Alpaca Lace. I have finished the garter square and now working the beginning of the border. I am also working the basic pullover from Knits Men Want by Bruce Weinstein. It’s being knit in Vanna’s Choice. I know, I know. I could do better, but it’s my first sweater and I don’t want to make it pricey till I am really comfy with sweaters. The sweater is going to be for me so I really don’t care. My only problem is that the sweater is done in pieces so all the purling is killing my hands.

Leave a Reply

